15 Easy Things You Can Do To Improve and Perfect Your Blog // {Blogging 101}

Hello, beautiful people!

It’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for Blogging 101! If you haven’t tuned into this ‘lil series of blogging tips before, or you just want to refresh your memory, let me get you up to speed. So far we have:

And today I’m bringing you:

15 Things You Can Do To Make Your Blog The Best It Can Be. 

15 ways to improve your blog

Because sometimes you just get stuck in a rut, or you find something that works and you decide “that’s good enough; I’m going to stop here” – especially after the whole  “I have a new blog, yay!” honeymoon period wears off. Which is fine, but if you’re not growing as a blogger, how can you expect your blog to grow?

Deep.

So, to help you flourish like the beautiful orchids on my windowsill, I happily bring to you a few things you can do to spruce up your blog.

  1. Make a post directory page. (Basically, a page that lists all your posts.)
  2. Revisit and fix your old posts.
  3. And share the hell out of them. Promote your content!
  4. Sort out all your tags and categories for easier navigation.
  5. A collaboration post.
  6. A guest post. A guest post is very much different to a collaboration post – a collab is where you work with another person on a post or series, whereas a guest post is where you just allow someone a post on your blog.
  7. Rework your about page – and, if you don’t have one, create one!
  8. Add a “Contact Me” page so people that want you can have you – whether that’s brands, other bloggers or just people that want to throw suggestions at you
  9. And, as far as suggestions go, include a survey once in a while to ask your readers what’s working and what’s not. Feedback!
  10. Link back to old posts. I need to start doing this, but all your old content doesn’t need to just be wasted (even if it is absolutely cringe to look back on).
  11. Show off your best content. Flaunt your most commented on, most liked or just your general favourite content through widgets, sidebars, pinned posts.
  12. Make your blog beautiful! Fix up that blog theme, edit yourself some pretty graphics and you’re good to go!
  13. Plan in advance. Blog planners are possibly the most useful thing in existence. You know what you’re posting when, you never lose those random ideas you get and when it’s all written up in front of you it’s a lot easier to just do. Let’s not forget – drafts are the key to life.
    kawaii desktop
  14. Gain inspiration from other bloggers. I’m thinking of creating a “Blogs I Love” page and linking to some of my favourite bloggers, so that the people that follow me can see where my inspirations come from!
  15.  Take better original images. Yep, one day I’ll say this enough that it will sink in to my head.

Well, there we have it! 15 easy improvements that you can implement to make your blog perfect. There are loads more things you can do that I . . . well, to be honest, I just forgot. If anyone has any suggestions, just drop me a comment!

Yeah, I know you thought it was over – but it’s not. Before you abandon me in this cold, dark world, be a babe and comment about what I should post for Blogging 101 next. I’m thinking either something about blog design, SEO or “The Science Of Popular Blog Posts” – but if you have any requests, feel free to let me know.

Insta // Twitter // Pinterest // Facebook

kawaii stationery

59 responses to “15 Easy Things You Can Do To Improve and Perfect Your Blog // {Blogging 101}

  1. They were great tips! I was seriously considering about stopping my blog because I felt I was getting nowhere with it but now I’m going to try follow your tips and hopefully stick at it! Thank you❤❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ahh the fixing part! Literally I was just stalking my own blogs the other day and whilst going through them I was like “did I actually write that?!?” Hahah
    Great post as always!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh, I pretty much live for these posts. One day I might get my act together and DO some of these extremely worthwhile things, but for now I’m good just imagining how fabulous my blog would be if I did. I think I need a rainy day to just go through them all and get my blog-game up. Also – yes please to a blogs I love page. X

    Liked by 2 people

    • Why thank you – I mean your blog is very much fabulous as is, the world just might not be able to contain it if you were to do all these things🌍🌍 I’m definitely gonna do that next time I have the time…. watch your notification for “Okaaythen linked back to your blog”😂x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great tips! Ugh… You just reminded me of all the things my blog is missing lol… I seriously need to make sure I keep m,y tags organized cuz it’s getting pretty crowded. I try to create content with similar tags and try to stick with those few at least until I decide to branch out a bit more.

    Soooo… For a future blogging 101 post I was thinking tips about choosing a theme that goes with your blog niche (if bloggers have a specific niche, but they may be pretty random like me which makes it harder). I wanted to write a post about that but honestly I’m way too lazy to do it!

    Like

    • Thanks gurl! Same here – everytime I write these I sit there like….it’s worse because I know both how to improve and that I’m not doing it😭😭
      That’s a really good idea! Thanks x

      Like

      • Lol! Yeah I totally understand. I worry people will realize I’m not following my own advice and will come off as a hypocrite so I try to do whatever the tip was that I gave lol

        Like

  5. Pingback: London Street Style x Kawaii = Mia OOTD // {Fashion} | Okaaythen.·

  6. Very helpful tips , I’ve just started my blog and since I’m clueless when it comes to techie stuff here’s my question : how to go about tagging other bloggers into ur posts do you have a blog dealing with the gadgety stuff like widgets and what not?
    Thanks 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you! hehe im pretty bad with all the technical stuff as well, luckily wordpess takes care of most of it. to tag other bloggers I just type their name then hyperlink their blog address 🙂 they’ll recieve a notification if you do that as well. and not at the moment, but i’d be happy to answer any questions 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: { Monthly Wrap Up – January } | Okaaythen.·

  8. I think it would be really cool to see a blog design post as I quite often struggle to understand what all of the different features are… BTW I absolutely ❤ LOVE ❤ this post! It looks really pretty and there are some excellent tips and advice that I will definitely put to use 🙂

    Like

  9. Pingback: { How To Gain Genuine Page & Site Views // Blogging 101 } | Okaaythen.·

  10. Pingback: { How To Create FREE Blog Infographics // Blogging 101 } | Okaaythen.·

Leave a comment